Aldous Huxley – Today’s Brave New World

Stumbled over this interview with Aldus Huxley through my friend Óglach who also reblogged it. It´s amazing and frightening in its accuracy and foresight. Please watch take the time to watch this whole video and share it! As you know, I´m not much of a reblogger, so this shows how much it means to me… 🙂

lion

the mirror@wordpress.com

Saturday Night – Film Night

Here’s an extraordinary find!

A 1958 interview with Brave New World author Aldous Huxley

It’s well worth listening to because of the themes he explores

And because he’s bang on with what he said would happen!

Risultati immagini per mystic meg

might as well have put away her crystal ball

Risultati immagini per mystic meg

as this visionary writer looked into our future.

You’ll be shocked and surprised at what you hear.

NB – disregard the first few seconds. I’m told they were usually messy like that at the dawn of TV broadcasting

Aldous Huxley (1894-1963)

Much of his work deals with the conflict between the interests of the individual and society, often focusing on the problem of self-realization within the context of social responsibility.

Brave New World, published in 1932,  imagined a fictional future in which free will and individuality were sacrificed  to achieve complete social stability.

Brave New World  depicted a dystopian…

View original post 68 more words

28 thoughts on “Aldous Huxley – Today’s Brave New World

  1. Thank you for this. It is eerily incisive and chillingly resonant of what we are seeing now. Like Orwell, Huxley was a man ahead of his time. We need as many as possible to read these great minds and understand the relevance to our lives today.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I must confess to a slight disappointment, Mr. Huxley wasn’t led from the studio, by security, foaming at the mouth, screaming at the camera, “It’s Farage and Trump you mustn’t trust, I tell yer!” But this aside an interesting clip, Sarah, thanks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! 😂 Well, I can see what you mean but it was a very different time then and him being also English he would never under any circumstances have behaved like that 😉 But maybe he should have that way this interview would definitely have become more famous and people might have been warned much earlier…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh you’re right, Sarah, of course you are. I don’t know if you’re familiar with a famous quote from English literature…
        “The past is a foreign country, they drink in moderation and are civil to each other.” Or something vaguely similar. It would have been quite the interview to predict those two chancers way back then. 🙂

        Like

  3. Thank you for sharing Sarah; this is so prescient. And such an amazing piece of television. Can you imagine an interview like that taking place now? Can you imagine an intelligent interviewer on a mainstream media channel, asking an author insightful questions and actually allowing them to answer? No hype, no graphics, no sensationalism. That in itself is terrifying in showing how much we have lost. Sending my best wishes to you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You´re spot on, Su. Apart from Aldous Huxley that was exactly what baffled me too – an intelligent, though still biased, interviewer who actually seems to have briefed himself beforehand! That´s why I enjoyed watching it so much, no hype just facts – wish TV were still like that… Also makes me wonder, how it comes that people 60 years ago seemed to be much more intelligent per se? Is it really because we grow up watching tv? Of course there are still many intelligent Homo sapiens sapiens around but somehow it has changed or is it just my imagination??
      Wish you a wonderful week! 🙂 xxxxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I totally agree Sarah! Cultural life seems to have become so dumbed-down and people’s attention spans have diminished accordingly. I’m not sure which is cause and which is effect, but I guess they feed off each other. Old movies, news programmes, books, radio shows, etc treated people like intelligent, thinking beings. By comparison, particularly modern TV programmes leave me feeling like my brain is being sucked out. I guess there has been such an explosion in the volume of cultural output that in order to get attention, the content has to be simple, brief — and sensational. Grr. Hope you are having a great week.xxx 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely and perfectly put, Su! And I totally feel the same about my brains being sucked out by too much crap tv…
        We live in a very different time than those intelligent people then, I sometimes wish for a little time-machine 😉
        I´ve often noticed that people get nervous when watching old films like Casablanca because there are so few cuts in them and a scene is almost always properly played right in front of the camera which makes it more into a play. Have you noticed the same? Our brain structure seems to require constant and different input in order not to get nervous or bored, which is kind of frightening. Imagine a surgeon feeling bored just because he stand for 4 hours on the same spot… Grrr, indeed!
        Have a lovely day! xxxxxx 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Good point about old films! I love Casablanca and watch it a couple of times a year. The boy-child dutifully watched it with me once and hated it! I think you’re right about the different editing style being something he noticed having grown up with 21st century film-making. I worry that my attention span is diminishing — and it might not just be my age.
        Hope your weekend is going well. xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • How come that most men don´t like this particular film?? Makes me wonder if Humphrey Bogart hated doing it… I know that he wore platform shoes in order not to be towered over by Ingrid Bergman 😉
        I just love that film!
        And I think we are slowly “educated” into watching films with fast scene changes so that it´s no wonder our attention span diminishes in general. I keep fighting it by watching old b/w films 😉 Just enjoyed another rerun of Miss Marple with Margaret Rutherford 😀 Just wonderful!
        Hope your week is going well, too! Here it´s constantly raining but slightly warmer – spring might just be on its way! xxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I didn’t know about the platform shoes :-). It was a man who introduced me to Casablanca, and he was obsessed with it. But thinking about it, it’s mostly women I know who love the movie. I love old movies; I wrote my thesis about thrillers and watched so many Hitchcock films! I haven’t seen the Miss Marple films, but love Margaret Rutherford as Lady Bracknell in ‘The Importance of Being Earnest’ — one of my all-time favourite movies.
        I’m having a “home alone” week. The Big T was home for two days between trips to Detroit and Melbourne. It’s quite nice to have the place to myself, but I’ll be glad to have him back at the end of the week (even if it is only for a few days). It’s really humid here, but the sun is shining and the only thing to do really is to go to the beach.
        Hope you have a great week and that spring is truly on its way. xxxxx 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh goodie! I haven´t seen that particular film with Margaret Rutherford yet! I just adore her – maybe because my great-grandmother looked a bit like her 😉 You know, mighty bosom and all 😉 and a heart of gold!
        Hope the Big T brings you something nice from each trip as sort of recompense for his absence!
        Ah, that sentence “…the only thing to do really is go to the beach.” totally makes me long for one! 🙂 xxxxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

