My Slightly Different Count Dracula – Chapt- 16: A Breach of Etiquette

Click here for chapters 1-15

It´s time for the next chapter of “My Slightly Different Count Dracula”!

Due to the troubles with my arms it´s a bit shorter than usual but Phil Ryan´s performance should make more than up for that! Treat your ears and listen to his wonderful interpretation! I hope you enjoy it! Happy reading and listening! 🙂 

 

 

 

Count Harecula felt his eyelids growing heavier as dawn approached but he resolutely tried to stay awake. He was feverishly hoping for Lizzie´s reply to arrive before his comatose sleep would overwhelm him the instant the first ray of sunshine hit the earth.

He paced up and down his bedchamber, for once not caring if he would ruin the handmade and expensive Tibetan rug that he had acquired on one of his many travelings through the Himalaya.

When it finally knocked on the door and a breathless Igor walked in without even waiting to be beckoned inside, Count Harecula had to restrain himself from seizing his butler´s shoulders and shake him in order to hurry him up.

Instead he turned deliberately slowly and simply raised a questioning eye brow.

Igor, simply ignoring the blasé attitude of his master, hurried over to him, holding in his hand the much awaited reply. He knew that with every second closer to sunrise his master risked to simply keel over on the spot, and that it would be up to him to carry his lordship to his coffin and deposit him there – a procedure that lacked not only any sense of dignity but was also surprisingly exhausting due to the sudden inflexibility of the Count´s limbs. Both, Count Harecula and Igor, always gave their best evading this scenario and usually succeeded, apart from a mere handful of occasions in the past.

Now with only minutes left, there really was no time for protocol. Igor simply thrust the letter in the Count´s outstretched hand, hurried over to the large windows that faced the grounds and parks surrounding the castle and began drawing the heavy brocade curtains. Normally one of the housemaids would see to this task but foreseeing that things were going to be tight this evening, Igor decided to take care of it himself tonight.

And for once, he didn’t even complain silently to himself about the fact that the Count had chosen a room with a view to rest during the day, although it held the threat to let his lordship burst into flames should the curtains or the coffin not be properly closed.

Igor simply couldn’t understand why the Count didn’t just pitch his camp in the vast cellars beneath the castle, this way it would mean less trouble for all, especially for him.

Igor vividly remembered the Count´s reaction when he had hinted at this point right at the beginning of his service for the Count.

Let´s just say, it wasn’t a pleasant memory, and Igor had refrained from asking the Count ever again.

Now as Igor was busy closing the curtains, he heard the rustling of paper as the Count took out the letter from its envelope. Igor had been slightly baffled to see the exact same letter he had seen to being delivered just a mere hour ago, but didn’t comment on it.

The next thing he heard was simply incredible and quite a bit shocking too, so that he jumped a little in surprise. Igor turned around and saw the Count hooting with laughter, prancing and bouncing about like a five-year-old.

Igor had never seen the likes of it. He also never saw the Count so wonderfully and beautifully happy. A man who was notoriously famous for being grumpy and sullen, bad-tempered and even nasty at times.

To his own astonishment Igor began to smile rather than to frown at this breach of etiquette. Of course, the behavior of the master always reflected upon his servants, and if anybody else would have happened to see this – and live to tell about it – Igor would downright deny to have seen his lordship presenting anything else than his regal and composed self.

But here, in this chamber and at this moment, Igor had to admit at least to himself, that it was the best thing he had ever been a witness to in his life.

It was at precisely this moment, that the Count keeled over and landed face first and with an impressive thump on the Tibetan rug.

Igor sighed.

chapt. 16 Kopie 2

Count Harecula keeling over

 

To Be Continued…

 

 

48 thoughts on “My Slightly Different Count Dracula – Chapt- 16: A Breach of Etiquette

  1. Although he did pass out, the Count managed to save face by landing on his Tibetan rug. No doubt he will have very pleasant dreams…or will the thought of Lizzie cause him to lose sleep? 😉 I eagerly await the next episode.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I know that feeling!! I have been congratulating myself on how great my knee has been and then tonight I twisted it and now can barely walk. I’m hoping it’s just a little strain and I’ll feel better in the morning. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. Sending (gentle, non arm-damaging) hugs xxxxxx 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, no! How terrible! Yes, it´s always like that, the moment you think you´re alright – BAM! – there it goes… Hope you will feel better in the morning and this was just a little setback.
        Thanks for the lovely gentle, non-arm damaging hugs – you´re so sweet! And I hug you back! 🙂 xxxxxxx

        P.S. I started working on that painting inspired by your lovely Alpaca photograph, the one you´ve edited so cleverly 😉 Hope I will be able to finish it soon. It´s the first canvas painting for me in quite a while and I´ve been wondering if I might have lost the hang of it, but luckily it seems, I don´t. My mum always tells me painting is like driving a bicycle – once learned you can´t unlearn it. And I want to believe that, but there´s always that little voice of doubt insisting that it all was just a stroke of luck and I´m actually not a painter… Ah, well, Kunst-angst and all that stuff 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m so glad you’re working on the painting. Can’t wait to see a photo of it. I think your mum is right. We never really unlearn things, but just get out of practice. I know you’re really talented, and I’m sure the motor skills will come back totally quite quickly.
        Hope you’re having a great weekend. xxxx 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      • Me too! It´s funny how the things you like most can actually make you feel afraid sometimes…
        If you want, I could send you some pictures of its process via email, or you could just wait till it´s finished and see it then 😉 xxxxxxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • True. I guess the things we care most about are the hardest to feel we might fail at.
        I think I’d like to see the finished painting THEN the process. I’m enjoying the anticipation, but I’m interested in the process too and I think I’ll “get” it more afterwards (if that makes sense). I have never really painted, so it always seems like a bit of alchemy to me. xxxx 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think I know exactly what you mean 😉 Hope I will manage to finish it soon, but somehow finishing it takes always more time than the first sessions where lay the foundations for everything… Alchemy is the right word for it 😀
        xxxxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I understand that. I find it a bit disheartening sometimes when I think I’ve made huge progress on a project, then realise that all the really hard, time-consuming work is still to come. xxxx 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. How wonderful to have you back and how wonderful to have The Count and Igor in fine fettle. I burst out laughing and Harecula springing round like a five-year old …. what will happen next – I wait with breath bated! Take care and don’t overdo it – we can’t afford to be without you again xxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Osyth! 🙂 I have to confess that I do actually laugh myself when I write the stuff 😉 And it is wonderful to know that others do too when they read it – there´s nothing more I could wish for 😀
      I first planned to make a drawing of him jumping around but feared that he might take it badly, he´s quite proud as you know and would only allow me to draw him fainting as it is a rather more traditional subject in the arts 😉
      Thank you for caring and for your good wishes, I will give my best not to overdo it! It´s so lovely to know that I – and the Count – have been missed 🙂
      Have a wonderful start of the new week! Love! xxxxxxxxxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I imagine he would have found that far too undignified. He might be interested to know that the French expression for fainting is ‘faire tomber dans les pommes’ … I note there were no apples in site when he passed out! 🍎 🍎 🍎 I have my eldest daughter arriving tomorrow morning so the week promises to be wonderful for me 😊 xxxxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Osyth! Aww – French, such a beautiful language 🙂 Thanks for telling me, I haven´t come across that term yet in my “studies” – still struggling at learning to conjugate all the irregular verbs 😉 Should the Count faint again, I will make sure to include some apples he could land on 😀
        I hope you have a wonderful time with your eldest daughter!!! Wish you a very happy weekend! Much love! xxxxxxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. There’s certainly no better place to collapse than a Tibetan rug! Nice to know Igor cracked a smile and reading about Count’s ecstatic prancing. Good news, it appears! You’ve created fantastical characters, Sarah. What fun!😘🌹

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry for the late reply!

    Loved the reading! Ah, it’s good to be back in the story, and a wonderful story it is. Igor is a fascinating character. Good job, Sarah. So glad to know you’re back in ol’ writing saddle again! :-). I too look forward to the next episode. Thank you so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • No worries, Paul, I´ve become the queen of late replies and I understand 🙂
      Thank you very much for your lovely comment, I´m more than happy that you enjoy reading it so much!!
      I have to admit I would love to have an Igor myself, very useful fellow 😉
      Wish you a beautiful Sunday! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, that pesky sunlight! I so love your cute drawings, and Phil is one of a kind. I can identify with the Count and his inflexible limbs, sigh. Igor is much braver than me, if I was assisting the Count, I would always be looking over my shoulder, ha ha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Lana!
      Phil really is one in a million, I´m so glad he agreed on doing this although he stopped blogging.
      Haha! Thanks for making me laugh! I too think Igor is a very brave man, I wouldn’t dare either to get anywhere near the Count when he is in one of his moods! 😉
      xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

