In the Mood for … Degas – Dancers at Rehearsal – Part I

Yesterday I started to work on a new painting! This time it´s inspired by the french artist Edgar Degas, famous for his paintings, drawings, prints and even sculptures. Most people tend to think of him as the artist who depicted mostly ballet dancers, and it´s true: more than half of his work does in fact represent them. But he also painted racecourse subjects, portraits and female nudes.

Anyway, the picture I picked is called “Dancers at Rehearsal”. You can find the original in the Pushkin Museum in Moscow (Russia), or just have a look here: http://www.edgar-degas.org/Dancers-at-Rehearsal,-,-1875-1877.html

As I already did it before with the painting that was inspired by the “Girl with a Pearl Earring”, I´m going to post the development of my new painting regulary and hope you´ll enjoy the process as much as I do!

So, here it comes, the first part – or as I like to call it at this early stage:

my “ghostly dancers”!

In the Mood for ... Degas - Dancers at Rehearsal - Part I
In the Mood for … Degas – Dancers at Rehearsal – Part I (Acrylic on canvas)

Published by Sarah

Artist & Illustrator

Leave a comment